Strictly Butter

Strictly Butter is a podcast fueled by lifelong friendship, good pizza, and an undying love for all things music. Every episode, Ryan Cody, Jeremy Klein, and Alexander Mathew bring you lively, in-depth discussions on current album releases, across a wide range of genres.

http://soundcloud.com/strictly-butter

subscribe
share



 

Episode 56: Top 5 Albums of 2018


As the year draws to a merciful close, it’s time once again for us to talk about our TOP FIVE favorite albums of the year. Pretty self-explanatory. It’s a long one, so strap in and enjoy! Love you all, see you in 2019! Also, we talk a lot about getting old, even though we're all still 29 and 30 ain't even that old. Idk, I'm cool with it. (Jer, 2018) Anyway... Ryan’s Top 5: 5) Robyn- Honey 4) The Skull Eclipses- S/T 3) TesseracT- Sonder 2) Good Tiger- We Will All Be Gone 1) Pusha T- Daytona Jeremy’s Top 5: 5) Haley Heynderickx- I Need to Start a Garden 4) Beach House- 7 3) U.S. Girls- In a Poem Unlimited 2) Parquet Courts- Wide Awake! 1) Mitski- Be the Cowboy Alex’s Top 5: 5) Pusha T- Daytona 4) Palm Reader- Braille 3) Olafur Arnalds- re:member 2) Low- Double Negative 1) Kacey Musgraves- Golden Hour Fun links to fun things: Robyn: http://robyn.com/ Honey: https://youtu.be/Mru9GG3ur9U Haley Heynderickx: https://www.haley-heynderickx.com/ No Face: https://youtu.be/iZ-NDDkzStk She did a Tiny Desk: https://youtu.be/Mub2i2BoHpM Pusha T: http://www.kingpush.com/ RAP ALBUM OF THE YEAR: https://shop.kingpush.com/products/rap-album-of-the-year-t-shirt-digital-album Beach House: http://www.beachhousebaltimore.com/ Drunk in LA: https://youtu.be/2j1_qPBuBMk Palm Reader: https://wearepalmreader.bandcamp.com/ Swarm: https://youtu.be/0v_m0B8gHJk The Skull Eclipses: https://theskulleclipses.bandcamp.com/ Pillars: https://youtu.be/FTmP07pYhLA Olafur Arnalds: http://olafurarnalds.com/ Here’s that dope live video from the episode: https://youtu.be/GPSqwmHo4zA Stratus: https://en.harpa.is/events/event/stratus-a-technological-music-democracy/ TesseracT: https://www.tesseractband.co.uk/ King: https://youtu.be/nwW1d_KtkJw The drummer from Battles keeps his one cymbal really high up: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/c1/John_Stanier.jpg/1600px-John_Stanier.jpg U.S. Girls: http://yousgirls.blogspot.com/ Pearly Gates: https://youtu.be/k9PLXHDEUFE The Cosmic Range: https://ideefixerecords.bandcamp.com/album/new-latitudes Good Tiger: https://www.metalblade.com/goodtiger/ Grip Shoes: https://youtu.be/oSleQSJyaWY Parquet Courts: https://parquetcourts.wordpress.com/ Freebird II: https://youtu.be/jHfOqqQ1DLQ Low: https://www.chairkickers.com/ Always Trying to Work it Out: https://youtu.be/1m31A4ZGss0 Some old Low for ya: https://youtu.be/xpnb3whTjLI Mitski: https://mitski.com/ Nobody: https://youtu.be/qooWnw5rEcI Stop Making Sense dance moooooves: https://media.giphy.com/media/grxZHdCnvc0lW/giphy.gif David Bowie “Heroes” hands: http://mediad.publicbroadcasting.net/p/wuis/files/201601/bowie_on_tour.jpg Twin peaks meanwhile: https://media.giphy.com/media/D6q1B4NyuQe2c/giphy.gif Kacey Musgraves: http://www.kaceymusgraves.com/ High Horse: https://youtu.be/fbNDJRwXKGc SHE WON THE CMA! Here she is reacting to that. Go Kacey!: https://youtu.be/_VkmNr0GXew Yours truly on Daytona: https://www.tinymixtapes.com/features/2018-favorite-50-music-releases?page=4 The Story of Adidon: https://soundcloud.com/pushat/the-story-of-adidon Joe Budden’s podcast with Pusha T which is somehow even longer than this episode: https://youtu.be/6MH044w2sOs


share





 24 December 2018  2h12m